Professor Lawrence Ho

Senior Consultant
National University Cancer Institute, Singapore (NCIS)
Division of Gastroenterology & Hepatology, University Surgical Cluster
National University Hospital (NUH)


Professor, Department of Medicine, Yong Loo Lin School of Medicine, National University of Singapore (NUS)


Vice Dean (Research), Yong Loo Lin School of Medicine, NUS

Group Director (Research), National University Health System (NUHS)


Professor Lawrence Ho graduated with first class honours from the University of Sydney, and undertook his training in therapeutic gastrointestinal endoscopy and endoscopic ultrasound at the Brigham and Women's Hospital, and Hospital of the University of Pennsylvania, USA. Besides being an accomplished endoscopist who has been invited to perform live case demonstrations in numerous international endoscopy workshops, he is an effective educator, winning the Faculty Teaching Excellence Awards, National University of Singapore, in 2000, and 2003 respectively, and being conferred the honorary International Life Membership of the Society of Gastrointestinal Endoscopy of India to recognize his contribution to endoscopic training in India. He chairs the Asian Endoscopic Ultrasound Group, which is a platform for leading EUS experts to promote endoscopic ultrasound training and professional development of endosonographers in the Asian region.


He was President of Gastroenterological Society of Singapore in 2005-6. His regional standing as an academic leader is exemplified by invitation as an orator in the Francisco Roman Memorial Lecture (Philippine Society of Gastroenterology and Philippine Society of Digestive Endoscopy, twice in 2003 & 2013 respectively), Seah Cheng Siang Memorial Oration (Gastroenterological Society of Singapore, 2012), Nihal Marcus Memorial Oration (Sri Lanka Gastroenterological Association, 2012), and Panir Chelvam Lecture (Malaysian Society of Gastroenterology & Hepatology, 2017). In 2010, he was conferred the Journal of Gastroenterology and Hepatology Foundation Emerging Leadership lecturer in the Asia Pacific Digestive Week.


Perhaps, what defines him is his ardent pursuit of innovation in medicine. In pursuit of bringing together regional experts with collaborative research in Barrett's oesophagus, he assumes the leadership as current Chair of the Asian Barrett's Consortium. In collaboration with Genomic Institute of Singapore, the team has made important strides in the cloning of oesophageal stem cells from patients with Barrett’s oesophagus. He also chairs the Gut & Obesity in Asia (“Go Asia”) Workgroup, which aims to study relationship between obesity and the gastrointestinal system in Asia-Pacific countries. He has published >200 peer-reviewed papers, > 10 book chapters, co-edited 4 books, and held 3 US granted patents in medtech products. His h-index is 45 (34 since 2012; Google Scholar). In recognition of his achievement in clinical & translational research, he was awarded the Inaugural National University Health System Leadership Award - Clinical Innovator (Individual) Award in 2011. As co-inventor for the ground-breaking technology of the Master and Slave Transluminal Endoscopic Robot (MASTER), he was part of the team who developed the world's first flexible robotic endoscopy system, which was successfully used to perform endoscopic submucosal dissection in human patients. Both the inventors co-founded a start-up company, Endomaster Pte Ltd and received the President’s Technology Award, the highest honour bestowed on exceptional research scientists and engineers in Singapore for their excellent achievements in science and technology, in 2012. Working with the Department of Bioengineering, NUS, the team pioneers the world’s one-of-a-kind In-Vivo Molecular Diagnostic System, which can make realtime diagnosis of GI cancer simpler. He co-founded the second start-up company, Endofotonics Pte Ltd to develop this product.


He chairs the Gastroenterology Residency Advisory Committee, and sits in the Joint Commission on Specialist Training, Ministry of Health. He is a member, Specialist Accreditation Board, Ministry of Health. He just stepped down as Chair, University Medicine Cluster, and Head, Department of Medicine, National University Healthcare System, following 6 illustrious years of leadership where he was instrumental in enhancing the academic culture, and growing the next generation of academic leaders within the university department. He now leads the research enterprise in the NUHS as the Group Director, Research Office, and Vice Dean, Research, NUS. He was awarded the Public Adminstration Medal (Bronze) during the National Day 2017.



Education and Fellowships

  • 2007 Fellow qua Physician of Royal College of Physicians (Glasgow)
  • 1998 Doctor of Medicine, National University of Singapore
  • 1997 Fellow of Academy of Medicine Singapore (Gastroenterology)
  • 1994 Fellow of Royal Australasian College of Physicians ( Internal Medicine)
  • 1986 MBBS (1st Class Honours), University of Sydney, Australia


Awards & Honours

  • Faculty Teaching Excellence Awards, NUS, in 2000 and 2003
  • Fellow of the Academic Medicine Development Award, NUHS, 2011
  • Inaugural National University Health System Leadership Award - Clinical Innovator (Individual) Award, 2011
  • President’s Technology Award 2012 
  • Public Adminstration Medal 2017


Updated as of 30 August 2017